top of page
  • ONWA

ONWA Congratulates All Indspire Recipients including ONWA Co-Founder Jeannette Corbiere-Lavell

Updated: May 8, 2020

Thunder Bay, ON - The Ontario Native Women’s Association (ONWA) wishes to congratulate Jeannette Corbiere Lavell on the honour of being announced as the 2020 Indspire Laureate for Lifetime Achievement.

ONWA Executive Director Cora McGuire-Cyrette offered personal congratulations:

“Jeannette is the embodiment of Indigenous women carrying their inherent leadership through her commitment to address gender-based discrimination for all Indigenous women. She has positively impacted Indigenous women and families, bridging a proud past, challenging colonial injustice and embracing a powerful future for our grandchildren’s children.”

A founding member and former President of ONWA, Jeannette has served many years in leadership roles, and is currently an Honorary ONWA member. From Wiikwemkoong Unceded Territory, Ontario, she has been a lifelong Activist, Cultural Champion, Precedent-Setter and Human Rights Activist.

“Jeannette has been a trailblazer for not only Indigenous women’s rights, but for all First Nations peoples. Our community is extremely proud of this well-deserved national recognition.” stated Wiiwemkoong Unceded Territory Chief Duke Peltier.

The Indspire Awards celebrate and honour First Nations, Inuit and Métis individuals who are a testament to the lives and work they do to make a better life for all Canadians. The twelve Indigenous leaders will be honoured at the 2020 Indspire Awards Ceremony in Ottawa Ontario on Friday March 6th, 2020. Following the ceremony, the 2020 Indspire Awards will be broadcast Sunday, June 21 at 8:00 pm on CBC, APTN and CBC Radio One.

For more information, please contact: Andre Morriseau, Communications Manager Ontario Native Women’s Association (ONWA) Phone: (647) 970-7661

102 views0 comments


bottom of page